Books

Lost girl Book Review

Lost girl was gifted to me in exchange of an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own. 

Book: Lost Girl 

Author: Holly Kammier 

Publication date: 5th of January 

Genre: mystery, suspense, young adult 

Rating: 4 STARS 

Synopsis 

AN APPALLING ACT OF VIOLENCE AND AN UNSOLVED DOUBLE MURDER.

SMALL-TOWN INVESTIGATIVE REPORTER, SHELBY DAY, IS DETERMINED TO HUNT A KILLER. 

As her search draws closer to uncovering the twisted truth, she begins receiving ominous warnings to stay quiet and drop the story. The young journalist is in danger. Her cameraman and best friend, a person with his own secret past, says he wants to protect her. But Shelby is headstrong and dodging anything that could lead to love. She can’t allow anyone to distract her as she fights for the two women who deserve justice. 

She never expects along the way she’ll have to stop and save herself.

Ticktock… If Shelby doesn’t solve the crime soon, she’ll become the killer’s next victim. 

“ Lost Girl is a compulsive thrill-ride that reads as if it’s been pulled straight from the headlines. Kammier’s journalism background brings undeniable authenticity to a novel that has it all– a love story, a murder mystery, and a real-life introduction into the distinctive world of television news.” 

-CAROLINE MITCHELL, New York Times best-selling author

This book is for anyone who loves:

Young Adult love stories

Murder Mystery

Redemption

Books with journalism elements

Intended for a mature YA audience

Fans of Veronica Mars, In The Woods, and One Of Us Is Lying, will love this novel.

My Review 

Going into this story I didn’t want to know a lot so I went in blind which was a really good idea as I didn’t expect some of the elements that happened in this story and really enhanced my reading experience. 

Shelby Day is a morally grey character throughout this story we see she has a tendency to make bad choices but I was rooting for her as the problems and tension unfolds. As this story unfolds we watch as Shelby realises the wrongs she has made and starts to become a better person. 

This story was very action packed and I was very shocked by the end reveal. Right from the beginning we kind of know how this story ends and it reels you in right from the get go. 

The journalistic elements of this story were so amazing and I felt like I knew the inner workings of how a newsroom works and what journalists do and the actual danger they can get into by asking unwanted questions. 

I really enjoyed this story and although this isn’t a five star read for me I definitely recommend to all you mystery lovers out there. 

About the Author

Co-owner of Acorn Publishing, the UCLA honors graduate is an accomplished content editor/writing coach (her authors have gone on to become USA Today best-sellers and a New York Times best-seller). With a background in journalism, Holly Kammier has worked everywhere from CNN in Washington, D.C. and KCOP-TV in Los Angeles, to the NBC affiliate in small-town Medford, Oregon.

She is the best-selling author of the novel, Kingston Court (Acorn Publishing 2015), and Could Have Been Hollywood, a memoir. Holly recently published her third book, Choosing Hope, a harrowing story of passion and deceit, and the things we do for love. Her next novel, the YA Romantic Suspense, Lost Girl, is scheduled for release in early 2020.

Holly resides in her hometown of San Diego, 

California, close to family and friends. An avid reader with a passion for timeless books and beautiful writing, she also enjoys long walks, romantic movies, and pink peonies.


Author links: 

Website : http://hkammier.com/

Twitter : https://twitter.com/hkammier

Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/Holly-Kammier-252951451414094/

Goodreads : https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/13909049.Holly_Kammier

Please follow and like us:

1 thought on “Lost girl Book Review

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *